Fort Worth Flashback: Street markers progressed through the ages
Posted July 2, 2012
The approximate age of a Fort Worth street often can be determined by the type of marker used.
The oldest street signs, now a thing of the past, consisted of painted signs on narrow pipe. The next type of markings, still in existence, can be seen in the Ryan Place Addition. On Elizabeth Boulevard near Eighth Avenue, the street name is carved directly into the curbing, as in this photo.
The next type of marking reflects the period from 1925-1937 and is more common throughout the city. In downtown and near Forest Park, streets are designated by mosaic blue and white tiles set directly into recesses in the curbing.
After 1937, street markings progressed to the currently used metal signs and poles. The size, color, design and materials have changed considerably through the years. Some of the first poles were made of concrete. Today, safety features such as reflective material, high-visibility fonts and breakaway poles are used.
The Fort Worth Library has approximately 10,000 items pertaining to the history of Fort Worth and Tarrant County. These items include city and county government documents, newspapers, directories, cemetery association records, maps as well as popular and scholarly books written by local authors or about local subjects. To learn more, call 817-392-7740 or email the Genealogy, History and Archives Section.
- Fort Worth Flashback: Cats hosted many big-league players
- Fort Worth Flashback: Symphony celebrating a century of making beautiful music
- Fort Worth Flashback: Swartz brothers chronicled early life in Fort Worth
- Fort Worth Flashback: Spring Palace showcased Texas wares, ended tragically
- Fort Worth Flashback: Fox photo collection is now digitized
- More »